Loeb’s Philo in Logos 7!

As mentioned in a posting below, the Loeb Classical Library ‘s edition of Philo’s texts has now been included in the Logos Bible Software 7. At the same time the handbook to Philo, Reading Philo, which was published late in 2014 by Eerdmans, has also been included. These additions, in addition to some other works on Philo already included for some time, (see here, here, and here) make Logos Bible Software even more useful for studying Philo.
logos-7-philo
The Greek text of the Loeb edition and the English translation are here published in separate volumes (see picture above). All the footnotes of the print edition are, of course, kept in this digital version too, and when the two are associated they scroll together.

Concerning the Reading Philo volume, all the references to Philo’s works included therein, are of course linked to Philo’s texts, whether that be in this Loeb edition, or to the older text version (of Borgen-Fuglseth-Skarsten) and the Yonge’s old translation, which are also available in Logos. I am a little bit surprised, however, that works mentioned in the book, and also available, are not all linked in Reading Philo ( see e.g., no link to the Lexicons or Runia’s Commentary On the Creation).However, it is nice to have the Handbook included!  🙂

Below is a picture of how my desktop in Logos may look when working on Philo. From left: it is possible to highlight texts (by color or underlining, or both: I often have this feature open), then I have the Biblia Hebraica opened, including (below) some lexicons (BDAG, LLS, Louw, BDB); then I have the LXX with some translations below. Then in the fourth column from left is the Loeb edition of Philo (text and translation, including Yonge’s translation). Finally, to the right, in this case, Ryle’s old volumes on the quotations of Philo from the Old Testament.

I wish I had two screens available, one for Logos, and one for my word processor, but I have no room for that on my desk. I do have a 27” screen, however, and that works very well too.

philo_on_deut

 

Author: TorreyS

See http://www.torreys.org/bible

Leave a comment