E. Mary Smallwood 1919 – 2023

Prof. E. Mary Smallwood passed away on September 4th, nearly 104 years old. She was a great scholar and worked as a professor of classical studies, which for her also included studies of the history of Judaism. Her book about The Jews under Roman Rule (1981) can still be read with great profit, as well as her commentary on Philonis Alexandrini Legatio ad Gaium (1961, 1970 +).

There is an obituary to be found in The Scotsman of Sep 28. Here she is characterized as “a remarkable woman who has left an indelible mark on the lives of those who knew her as teacher, mentor, encourager, and friend.”

I had the pleasure of her presence in 1999 when I gave a guest lecture at the University of Edinburgh. She also had a comment ex auditorio, which I tried to answer as best I could. But I found it a great honor that she was present and commented. I still read her books with great benefit.

Author: TorreyS

See http://www.torreys.org/bible

Leave a comment