Home » 2009 » June » 11

Daily Archives: June 11, 2009


I have almost always been very sceptical to those socalled free open source office programs; just thinking: can something that is free be good? But I must admit that I was very surprised when I finally installed the Open Office suite and gave it a try.
In the words of its producers:
OpenOffice.org 3 is the leading open-source office software suite for word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, graphics, databases and more. It is available in many languages and works on all common computers. It stores all your data in an international open standard format and can also read and write files from other common office software packages. It can be downloaded and used completely free of charge for any purpose. ”

So far I have primarily been using its word processor, because the test time of the Wxxd on my new computer was out, and I have had problems- in fact- not being able to renew a licence.

Hence my first impressions of OpenOffice programs are very good. From now on I will not be mad anymore at students who hand in papers in .odt format ….. :)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers