Philonica et Neotestamentica

Home » Uncategorized » NaturallySpeaking has arrived.

NaturallySpeaking has arrived.

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Today my version of NaturallySpeaking arrived in my mailbox. I choose to buy the preferred edition. I have now spent a small hour trying to learn to program, it installed very nicely, and I have tried some of the tutorial exercises. I find it very easy to use. I must admit, that I have used an earlier version, but that was several years ago. And I do find this version much better. I am in fact, using  the program, and  using the enclosed microphone by writing this. I have  made very small mistakes in his (= this) first paragraph, and that is even with my non-native English.

Hopefully, when I have become more acquainted with the program it will serve me even better. If any of you have any experiences with this software, it would be very interesting to read you comments, in the comments field below.

Well, when I licked (=looked) over this text I found some problematic words. But  the program is very easy to use also when you want to correct something. Have a nice day!

Update April 14

A couple of weeks ago, I bought a new computer. It turned out that it not only had Vista installed, but it also had Vista 64 bits installed. Very soon it turned out that the Dragon NaturallySpeaking program I had bought could not be used on my computer.

But then I discovered that I could download an upgraded version and that it was capability of running on a 64 bits computer. I had to download 1.3 gigabits and it took me about one hour to download the program. After some time, I had it installed and now it works fine on my new computer. I am sorry to tell, that I have not had enough time to exercise and to rehearse using NaturallySpeaking, but I am making progress, and I hope it will be better to understand my speech every time I try to use it.

Sometimes it has some problems with theological words, but I presume it has most to do with my pronunciation, not the words by themselves, but that’s the whole deal: it has to understand my pronunciation, and I had to do a lot of training to make it more capable of understanding me and writing what I am saying.


1 Comment

  1. Tim Bulkeley says:

    I’d be interested in any comments you or other users leave, I’d love to be able to dictate to my laptop, and over the years have tried several programs, but so far none that was accurate and fast enough to be really useful as a replacement for two quick fingers 😦

    Torrey, even if no one else shares experiences please do tell how it’s going….

Leave a Reply

