Philonica et Neotestamentica

Home » Alexandria » Yess, I found Philo

Yess, I found Philo

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

bibalex_books
I had searched the library online before I left for Egypt, and did not find much about Philo. And this lack was confirmed when I searched the library in situ. I had the privilege of donating an exemplar of my dissertation to the library when I was there, and I found a couple of well known books about Philo: above you can see my discovery of the P. Borgen Festschrift and the D.E. Aune Festschrift, both containing articles on Philo. But two things surprised me; I could not find any texts of Philo, and many of the books dealing with him were not given a special location, but were to be found in shelves containing the label “General”. One might ask: don’t they know about the famous Alexandrian called Philo Judaeus? I think he deserves much more attention and a lot more volumes in this library!


Leave a Reply

